Here at 1 Stop Insurance we strive to give our clients great service, convenience, and satisfaction they deserve.
What Coverage Is Required In Florida
In Florida, to purchase a tag, you must carry:
A minimum of $10,000 of personal injury protection (PIP)
A minimum of $10,000 of property damage liability
However, Florida’s Financial Responsibility law requires drivers to be financially responsible for bodily injuries to limits of $10,000 per person with a maximum of $20,000 per accident. If a driver or owner of a vehicle does not have sufficient cash reserves to meet the financial responsibility requirement, it is a very good idea to purchase Bodily Injury Liability.
Bodily Injury Liability (BI)
Bodily Injury Liability pays, up to policy limits, for death or serious and permanent injury to others when you are legally responsible for an accident involving your automobile. This coverage also provides legal representation if you get sued.
Property Damage Liability (PD)
Property Damage Liability pays, up to policy limits, for certain damage that you cause to another person’s property through the use of an automobile. The term property is not limited to another vehicle and may include a fence, telephone pole, building or animal.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP was designed to help reduce the need for Floridians to sue to cover injuries resulting from automobile accidents. PIP covers the named insured and other members of the household. PIP pays:
80 percent of medically necessary expenses;
60 percent of lost wages;
100 percent of replacement services such as child care, housekeeping, or yard work;
Up to $5,000 for death benefits.
The basic PIP limit is $10,000. However, additional PIP may be purchased.
What Other Coverages Are Available
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM)
Comprehensive (a/k/a Other than Collision)
Other Drivers in Household
Any driver that resides in the home of the insured or has regular usage of the insured's vehicle, must be listed on the policy . If this information was not disclosed to the insurance company, they can deny a claim and cancel the policy for material misrepresentation.
If the driver is not living in the household and does not have regular usage of the vehicle and the insured provided permission to drive the vehicle, applicable coverage may apply.
Be certain to read your policy as some policies only cover listed operators.
Automobile Insurance Tips
Verify before you buy!!!! Contact us to verify the license of the agent and the insurance company before you sign the application for a policy.
Automobile Insurance Guides The guides are excellent tools to gain a better understanding of all the coverage and limitations of automobile insurance.
Complaint Comparison You may compare the number of complaints an insurance company has compared to the number of policies they have in force on our website.
Review your policy carefully!!!! - Make sure you have all the coverage that you need. - Understand your responsibilities in the event of an accident. - Make sure you are covered if you drive someone else’s vehicle. - Make sure a person you give permission to use your vehicle will be covered.
Additonal information may be found on the Florida Department of Financial Services website at : www.FLDFS.com
Please feel free to contact us at 813-425-3295 for any questions and or concerns.